top of page

"The 'Faulty-Bucket' Issue" - Devo #13

Updated: Apr 7, 2020

Funny, but not super funny, I think that I've read my own devo from last week about 10-15 times now.


I had written about how we can love others without having to be loved, but that it was hard to not have someone else in our lives when everyone else seems to have someone special in theirs. I felt that.


Thanks to Apple’s new “Screen Time” setting, I was able to see that I spent over 3 hours on social media (probably Instagram), scrolling up, and up, and up, wondering what God’s got planned……….but then I was reminded about the second part of my devotional.


The loving others part.

 

Ephesians 5:1


Therefore be imitators of God, as beloved children.


I had filled my mind up with the false idea that my role was to love others, and that I didn’t need anyone to do anything for me in return. I am still completely good with this, but the one thing that struck me this past week was Thursday morning.


I stepped into my 2nd grade classroom for my field-experience (where I observe and assist in a class), and was bombarded with a bunch of candies with Valentine’s notes attached to them for “Mr. Avery”.


Trying not to cry (which I successfully did not cry), I thanked them, and couldn’t help but think the rest of the day about how just those few and tiny notes made my entire heart overflow with happiness.

 

Hebrews 13:1


Let brotherly (and sisterly) love continue.


Friday, the day after Valentine’s, I stopped by Walmart to get some groceries and 1/2 price candy, but when I entered, I was caught off guard by the greeter standing right inside the sliding door.


“WHAT'S UP BROTHA?! How you doing on this fine day?” and then proceeded to give me knuckles followed by the fireworks effect.


Completely unexpected. This guy was most likely being paid minimum wage, but he was giving a much more than minimum-wage effort to brighten each person’s day.


In addition to my Walmart trip on Friday, I went rock-climbing yesterday afternoon with some college buddies of mine. Some were brand new friends, and some I had already met. After climbing with them, I figured I would head back home and start back on whatever else I had to do, but instead, I was invited out to dinner with the rest of the group.


Kyle, who was the birthday boy and the guy who invited me, had no idea what kind of day or week I had been having, but thought to ask me to join him and his friends (now my friends) for a night out on the town.


It was the smallest action, but such a big impact on my heart.

 

But here's where we get off:


We wake up to our 3rd alarm instead of our 1st alarm and we're late to class/work.

The next test you get is a D or F and not the A or B you were hoping for.

You receive a phone call or get a text saying that someone in your family is diagnosed with a bad sickness, injury, or that they've passed away.

Your family is in a bad spot financially.

There seems to be a lot of commotion and verbal disagreements because one person is "right" and the other person is "wrong".

The household you're in is not centered around a strong source of faith.


And this is what I like to refer to as the "Faulty-Bucket" issue.


As you probably saw in the picture before reading this, the faulty-bucket issue is when we have hearts and minds like a bucket, but with many holes in our buckets. Those holes are the problems we face each and every day.


The only way to keep our hearts and minds full (of healthy things) is to fill them. The big issue with our faulty-buckets is that we can't just fill them for one day or for one week. We have to fill them continuously, without an end.


Similarly in our walk with Christ, we must continue to fill our hearts and minds with His word and teachings. When you show up to church on Sunday morning, your bucket gets some water in it. When you listen to some Christian radio on the way to school or work, your bucket gets some more water in it. When you show love and kindness, your bucket gets some water in it, and so does someone else's. But when the devil tempts you or tries to ruin your day, your bucket is going to start leaking, and you're never going to see those holes in your bucket until there's nothing left for you to take from.


Soon, you'll find that you have an empty bucket.

 

The solution: We not only need to fill our own bucket, but we need to fill each other's buckets!


As the body of Christ, we need to do the little things that make big differences like holding the door for someone, whether or not they are fully capable of opening the door themselves. We need to say things like "Hi" and "Hello!" or "What's up brotha?!"


We need to invite others to things like dinner, school events, or even CHURCH! If they're not good with church, what about a small group? Invite them out for coffee, it really doesn't matter where. It just matters that you're thinking about them and for them to see that they are worth something to you.


We need to be looking out for those who we think need our love the least because they need it the most.


So......here are a few questions for you to ask yourself:


1. How are you going to fill your bucket this week?

2. Who is someone who would really appreciate to have their bucket full tomorrow?

3. In what ways are you going to fill someone else’s bucket today?


and something a little new:


Pray: Ask God to provide you with many opportunities to bless others this week, and that He would open your eyes to see His blessings for you, as well.


Now go on and fill some buckets!


Live, love, and be loved.

191 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page