top of page

"Addicted" - Devo #21

Updated: Apr 7, 2020

Earlier this week, I was sitting in the coffee shop on campus, as I always do when I forget to make my own coffee in the morning, and I got this really, really bad headache. And this wasn't my first bad headache of the week. It was like my 5th or 6th one!


I was convinced I was simply just dehydrated, sleep-deprived, or maybe just stressed.


Nope. I said to the person across the table from me, "I'm fairly certain I'm addicted to coffee." As jokingly as I said this, I wasn't joking at all. I had literally developed an addiction to caffeine over the past few weeks leading up towards finals. I would go on with 4-6 hours of sleep on a consistent Monday-Saturday, and get a big-honking 7-8 hours of sleep once a week, leaving little to no time for rest, let alone time to spend with God.


Every little thing was adding up like dominoes, and I had created a never-ending cycle of unhealthy habits which fell on top of each other until I crashed and hit rock-bottom.


Rock-bottom. Y'all, I needed (and still need) Jesus......not coffee.

 

Isaiah 55:2

Why spend your money on something that is not real food? Why work for something that doesn’t really satisfy you? Listen closely to me, and you will eat what is good; your soul will enjoy the rich food that satisfies.


Coffee is not my only addiction that I ran into as I'm finishing up my college semester.


Two weeks ago, I got hooked back onto my phone; more specifically, video-games, social media, and anything that requires constant attention and a consistent buzz in my pocket.


I had completely rewired my schedule to fit in everything that kept me from doing what I needed to be doing.


I went from working out 3-5 times a week to working out 3-5 times this past month! I showed up to classes on 3-4 hours of sleep, cramming all of my notes down my throat before a quiz. And my papers were far off from what they should've/could've/would've been.


But I know that I'm not the only one to ever face some sort of addiction; big or small, mild or extreme.

 

In John, chapter 8, Jesus takes a walk on over to the Mount of Olives, near the city of Jerusalem.


As he arrives, he finds a group of Pharisees surrounding a woman who was being shamed for committing adultery. “Teacher, this woman was caught in the act of adultery. In the Law, Moses commanded us to stone such women. Now what do you say?” (v. 4-5)


Jesus stood among the crowd and asks the Pharisees, “Let any one of you who is without sin be the first to throw a stone at her.” (v. 7)


After each and every one of the Pharisees had walked away, Jesus looked at the woman and asked her, “Woman, where are they? Has no one judged you guilty?” She answered, “No one sir” Then Jesus said, “I also don’t judge you guilty. You may go now, but don’t sin anymore.” (v. 9-11)


 

You and I both know that we're going to sin again. It's inevitable that it's going to happen, whether we think so or not.


It says in Ecclesiastes 7, verse 20:

Indeed, there is not a righteous man on earth who continually does good and who never sins.


And if you know someone who you think has never sinned, and isn't ever going to sin, you're most likely wrong, and they are probably very wise in keeping their mouth closed, and thoughts to themselves.


We all have minds that are full of sin, but knowing that Christ is within us, NOTHING should be able to stop us from receiving Him; especially in times when we need His power the most.


WE MUST MOVE ON!


God will always forgive you for what you have done, but you have to forgive yourself and move on.


You can't feel bad about what you've done and come back to it a month, or even a week later.

You have to get rid of your addictions and focus your vision on Christ who sustains you forever, not the things of Earth, which only fill you for short periods of time before you (think you) need them, again.


We need God daily! Hourly! Every minute of our day should be filled with the Holy Spirit, but it's because of the things, the people, and the places we are surrounded by that keep us from that spiritual mindset.


If we were barricaded in a church, or sent on a mission trip for a week or so, we'd probably be less addicted to our phones, our loaded pantries/fridges, and the substances that give us pleasure for temporary moments of our lives; many moments where we don't even have the consciousness to understand we're really enjoying those substances (because they aren't what really sustain you).

 

2 Corinthians 5:17

If anyone belongs to Christ, there is a new creation. The old things have gone; everything is made new!


So why not try something new?


Create a new addiction or a habit? No, not a new video game, a new source of online messaging, or a different brand of Lays chips. I mean a different kind of way to spend time with God each day, a new way to reflect on His everyday blessings, or a friend/partner who can keep you accountable towards your relationship with God.


Ecclesiastes 4, verse 9 and 10 say that "Two people are better than one, because they get more done by working together. If one falls down, the other can help him up. But it is bad for the person who is alone and falls, because no one is there to help."


Go and get someone addicted to Christ and His journey for all of us, both here on Earth and on our way to His kingdom!


Questions to ask yourself:

1. What are some new (and healthy) habits you can create?

2. Who is going to keep YOU accountable?

3. How can you keep that person accountable and grow your faith STRONGER than your addictions?

4. What's more important to you? Your addiction(s)......or your love for God and the people He's put in your life?


Pray......that God would strengthen you, keeping you away from the things that keep you off your faith path, keeping you away from those who do wrong and tempt you, and that He would provide you the resources to continue a happier life through a stronger, healthier relationship with Him.


With that said,

Live, love, and be loved.


75 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page